MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Chest Waders for Waterfowl

RyeGuy74

I am new to waterfowl hunting and with that I am looking for chest waders. I was just wondering what everyone recommends. I don't mind paying more for quality but at the same time, I don't want to pay $300+ for a pair if they'll rip or become unusable just as easy as a cheaper pair. Any recommendations are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

I am new to waterfowl hunting and with that I am looking for chest waders. I was just wondering what everyone recommends. I don't mind paying more for quality but at the same time, I don't want to pay $300+ for a pair if they'll rip or become unusable just as easy as a cheaper pair. Any recommendations are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
Let me know when you figure it out. I've yet to have a pair go an entire season without a leak.

I have struggled with this one. I am an avid Buy American guy but respect basic finances. For warmer weather I could not afford Simms. So I bought USIA waders. They are super tough and have worked great for warm weather fishing and early season hunting. For late season at least here in MT I want neoprene 3.5 to 5 mils thick. I have not found an American made one. Also I want armoring on the knees for cut resistance when walking and jump shooting. I regularly hunt in temps below zero and nothing works like neoprene but you will sweat on long walks jump shooting! Buy what fits and they will last 3-5 years depending on the action. I used stocking foot waders for many years but they suck when you are changing in and out of waders at below freezing temps!

Neoprene will make you sweat even in the Bering Sea.
I've used breathable but stocking foots suck.
I'm a cheapskate and bargain hunter who finds and uses gear from swapmeets/flea markets. However, I bit the bullet and bought the Sitka breathable with zippered front and going into the 2nd season now.