Save $100 on the Leupold VX-3HD

Change of Plans in Wyoming

Pedropistola

This is my first year elk hunting after moving to WY in July, I didn't make the cutoff as a resident for the draw so I'm hunting the general tag. I just got done crunching the numbers on the 2019 harvest statistics (too cheap for GoHunt) and there were some changes compared to last year that made me look at a couple new units in addition to 13/21 were I was thinking of going; 56, 81, 128. I know 56 and 81 have bears, I have spent some time in grizzly bear country, mostly day hikes, but this may be a solo journey. Is it unwise to hunt alone among the bears? I am planning on getting off the roads to get away from the crowds and still see/hear/call in some elk in archery season, is anyone familiar with the hunting pressure in any of these units? From the sounds of it 13 and 21 can get a bit crowded.

Can't really help but I've hunted 82 just across the river from 81. Friend I was with shot a raghorn the one day we hunted. We glassed a ton of elk in 81. 82 is essentially off limits to you as it's mostly wilderness I think. I used to hunt solo in grizzly country. It certainly puts you in a higher risk group, but just be vigilant and take the necessary precautions. You can look at 85 too, especially for archery season. It's a bit more timbered country and probably more conducive to calling. There's probably fewer grizzly bears there too.