MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Butchering My own ELK

smccrory

OK I have a question for you ladies and gents. I have been hunting deer for about 6 years and I have never butchered my own deer. I am from IL and I am driving out to Wyoming for my first elk hunt. I am going to quarter the elk out and bring it home in coolers. I want to do my own butchering and I can only find 5 mins videos on youtube. I was hoping someone here could help me out and tell me where I can look to learn how to butcher the elk and what meats come which part. Thanks in advanced for any help! Good luck to all the hunters out there this year!!

I have always butchered my own elk. For me the backstraps and tenderloins are steaks. The round muscle of the hind quarter makes a couple roasts each. I also make roasts out of the neck meat and shanks. The rest is burger. Pretty simple really. I kind of enjoy butchering/processing my game meat, but I'm always glad when the last package of elk meat is wrapped and in the freezer. I would guess there are videos on youtube that may be more specific. Good luck on the hunt.

Piece of cake. No reason to pay anyone to cut and wrap steaks, roasts or stew meat for you. All the loose meat and stuff gets turned into burger, so call around and find someone that will grind it for cheap if you don't have access to one.

I've only used a butcher if I want salami, jerky or specialty stuff done, which isn't very often. If you have the time I know some guys enjoy doing that themselves too. All of this will save yah $300+ on an elk depending on what you want.

If your wife has a KitchenAide mixer, they make a grinding attachment. There's more than a few here that disagree with me that they are "good", but I've put a lot of meat through ours over the years with no complaints.