PEAX Equipment

BLM/HMA/map overlays for GPS

M

MN Public Hunter

I'm no expert when it comes to GPS's and the maps available for them now and I'm thinking I might need a new GPS that will tell me that I'm on public land(BLM or HMA or WIA) vs on some ranchers land for the upcoming antelope hunt in WY.

I know you can get the maps from the vendors like Garmin or Delorme, but do they actually show the outlines of the BLM and pinpoint your location to 3 meters and show you are actually standing on the BLM land?

How about HMA or WIA overlays?

I'm 100% open to suggestions to equipment(GPS) and links to maps and stuff other people are currently using.

Thanks...Garret

I know you can get the maps from the vendors like Garmin or Delorme, but do they actually show the outlines of the BLM and pinpoint your location to 3 meters and show you are actually standing on the BLM land?
Nope.

How about HMA or WIA overlays?
Nope.

But, you can download/buy a program that allows you to upload the data to the unit. Some of this data is available for free online and the rest could probably be had with a few phone calls/contacts to the appropriate state or federal office.

If you're worried about wandering off a HMA in WY, I wouldn't. If you can read the ones that I've hunted are very clearly marked. FWIW.

The new Garmins - Colorado, Dakota and Oregon models can download All Topo Maps V7 onto them that also have 1:100 BLM maps on them.

My gps is an extex I dont think it would work for mine.I am giont to just try going of quardenets for boundaries

I plan to buy one this week.
Really? Why not buy the program to converty shapefiles to a format you can put on your Garmin (about the same price as one state), then just get the shapefiles from the agencies? Just wondering...