At what age would you start your child?

Griggs

Hunting that is. I grew up hunting, since it was a way of life for us from when I was born. It was literally how we got our meat all year long, there wasn't really another feasible way. All supplies had to be ordered annually and they came on the barge with the icebreaker in the summer.

NL3FNTr.jpg

I started shooting when I was 4, hunting not long after (rabbits to start).

qAsIJjp.jpg

tqdD0t4.jpg

My Dad with one of the caribou.

zWbW5Oz.jpg

WUyIMNO.jpg

fNGZUlo.jpg

I did my part to help, which wasn't usually much.

My son has now expressed an interest, and he's 4.

tr2B86g.jpg

I know the whole base it off them, etc. I may start breaking him in more, he already helps clean the deer, elk, rabbits, etc. But at what age did you start, and what age did you start your kids at?

My hunting is now vastly different as an adult in AZ....

My dad got me started at 8 years old with actually shooting and going on hunts with him. Before that he would take me along on scouting trips and hanging treestands and what not.

My daughter now 17 started tagging along with me on turkey hunts at age 5. She was taking a .410 at age 8. Wasn't able to connect on first turkey until age 10 at which age she killed her first deer. My son is 6 and he was lying in a lay out blind on duck hunts at age 5. He tags along on the trap line. I let him dispatch a bobcat this year. I'm hoping he will be able to be efficient with the .410 this year for turkey hunting. The main thing I worry about at an early age is if he kills a turkey at age 6 is will that "spoil" him? Will it take away some meaning of success at a later age?

The main thing I worry about at an early age is if he kills a turkey at age 6 is will that "spoil" him? Will it take away some meaning of success at a later age?
I wonder the same thing as I'm impatiently anticipating taking my little guy out in the future.