Anyone using rattlesnake vaccine?

OntarioHunter

When the snake venom vaccine for dogs hit the market a few years back there was quite a bit of controversy. For one thing, the labratory that developed it apparently rigged their test trial data. They took a lot of heat for that. Also it was not much good for anything but one of the diamondback species (eastern as I recall). Anybody using the vaccine for their dogs? I have heard the snake orientation course works very well for teaching hunting dogs to avoid snakes. Anyone have any experience with it?

I have not done it but have talked to a couple of fellow Chukar hunters who have. They swear by it.

I got it for my dog. My friends spouse is a vet and said that dogs with it rarely need antivenom if they get hit by a rattle snake.

My vet recommended it years ago so my dogs get it. I just took his word for it, did not do any research. One dog has run over two western diamondbacks, but did not get hit, so I have no real experience if the vaccine works.

I have not done it but have talked to a couple of fellow Chukar hunters who have. They swear by it.
Vax or orientation course? I have heard the course only takes about forty minutes and is very effective except for the odd dog that just hates snakes with a passion. I had a Lab once that would attack and kill any skunk she could catch. Always biting them right in the arse too. Man, I thought she would die, foaming at the mouth, gagging, choking, rolling around on the ground. But she never stopped doing it. Some dogs are the same way with porcupines.

Our vet recommended against it so we haven't. He said it isn't proven as effective in MT and could do more harm than good. Our lab has learned to just avoid the things which there are quite a few of around the farm where she resides with my son.