Any mechanics here?

Bigjay73

My 2014 Ram 1500, 2wd, 5.7l, auto transmission is having an issue. Almost seems like the cam sensor. It struggles in lower speeds, hesitates, loss of power, but sometimes the traction light will blink while its hesitating. Over 40mph it seems fine, but 5-35 its rough. No permanent warning lights, check engine light is off. Should I replace the Cam sensor, or take it into a shop?

I'm no mechanic, sounds like it could be the speed sensor. Probably in the rear end. It would be worth a diagnostic check to see.
Mind fart. You're talking about the tranny output speed sensor, aren't you? I thought you meant the ABS sensor in the wheel

What diagnostic tool are you using to check faults? Cheaper ones will usually only allow you to check/clear active or stored faults. More expensive ones will read everything including pending, abs, or transmission faults.

Was the issue happening before you did the rear brakes? Could possibly be an issue with the parking brake dragging on the inside of the rotor hat. I've run into the same symptoms with that as well.

Minus the traction light my 2002 ram 1500 did all of above mentioned and it was because I lost 1st gear.

What diagnostic tool are you using to check faults? Cheaper ones will usually only allow you to check/clear active or stored faults. More expensive ones will read everything including pending, abs, or transmission faults.

Was the issue happening before you did the rear brakes? Could possibly be an issue with the parking brake dragging on the inside of the rotor hat. I've run into the same symptoms with that as well.
It didn't, but if I let up on the gas, the truck doesnt slow down. It doesn't seem like the brakes are dragging. I have a work vehicle, so I'm putting off changing the speed sensor till the weekend. fingers crossed.