MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Any advise on how to store deer overnight in cold temperatures?

Clam

Hi All,

I’m fairly new to deer hunting and am wondering what is the best way to handle a field dressed deer overnight if it gets cold-(teens)? I take them to be processed, but if it is late in the evening by the time I get back to town, the butcher isn’t usually available until the next day. Last year I covered them with a blue tarp in the back of the truck and it worked just fine, but the temps only dropped to the high 20’s. This year the forecast is looking like it’ll be significantly colder.

I do have access to a garage/shop if needed.

Thanks in advance,

Neil

Hi All,

I’m fairly new to deer hunting and am wondering what is the best way to handle a field dressed deer overnight if it gets cold-(teens)? I take them to be processed, but if it is late in the evening by the time I get back to town, the butcher isn’t usually available until the next day. Last year I covered them with a blue tarp in the back of the truck and it worked just fine, but the temps only dropped to the high 20’s. This year the forecast is looking like it’ll be significantly colder.

I do have access to a garage/shop if needed.

Thanks in advance,

Neil
Just hang it where you can at those temps. If the garage is unheated, hang it from the rafters and you're good to go. If you have a tree outside, hang it from the tree in a way that animals can't get at it.

I've let my deer freeze before I was able to butcher them, it's not really a concern, and if its just overnight I wouldn't worry about it one bit.

It will be fine. Just hang it, if you can. If you put a tarp around it, make sure that the air can get in. A solid tarp does not let the air circulate around it very well and will hold in the heat.

The processor wont care at all if the deer is partially frozen; as others have said, I prefer to work it that way.