Yeti GOBOX Collection

Another Adult Onset Hunter from Denver

mcmc

Hi everyone,

My name is McCain. I'm new to HuntTalk and I've read several people advising new members to post a bit about themselves here. So here goes...

I grew up on the east coast in a family that fished a lot and started getting serious about fly fishing about ten years ago. I moved to CO in 2013 and have since become obsessed with fishing the backcountry, especially alpine lakes. I did some fun trips to fish New Zealand and British Columbia in recent years, as well as spending a week or two each summer fishing the Winds. I

In 2018, a good friend invited me to tag along on his elk hunt here in CO. We didn't see much in the way of game, but by the end of the first day, I was having so much fun that I knew I was in trouble... I was going to have to buy a rifle, some binos, tags, and all the other fun stuff that I don't have enough money for!

In 2019 my hunting friend had serious medical issues that prevented him from being able to hunt with me that year (I knew so little I didn't go by myself). Then in 2020 I wasn't able to draw the same tags as him (he had more pts than me in CO). I joined him for his first rifle elk hunt this past year and had a blast even though we were unable to shoot a bull. I bought a cow elk tag and hunted as hard as I could but couldn't find any cows in 5 days.

So I'm looking at where to apply this year in CO and maybe elsewhere. Mostly on HT just trying to absorb information from more experienced hunters and contributing what I can to the forum.

Cheers,
Mc

as well as spending a week or two each summer fishing the Winds.
I haven’t spent a full week in there for 20 years and it bothers me every time I poke around the upper green.

welcome aboard from south of Denver!

I haven’t spent a full week in there for 20 years and it bothers me every time I poke around the upper green.

welcome aboard from south of Denver!