Am I being stupid?

Mossy-Back

This is my first year bow hunting (using a recurve no less). Tomorrow is the last day of our early deer season in western Oregon. I can shoot any deer in the area I am hunting. I’ve had shot opportunities at 3 does so far but have been holding out for a buck, as I know there is a forked horn hanging around the area. The meat is the most important thing to me, but I’d love to get a buck.
This morning I had a broadside 15 yard shot at a doe and it took a lot of willpower to pass on it. I’d be thrilled to get any deer with a bow this year, but I keep thinking I have a whole month left to hunt during the rut in November and early December. Am I being stupid passing on the does?

C75EE784-AF4D-4C7C-9664-25C9E510F6EE.jpegBF3A3C55-AC4D-43EF-9C44-B4018F7BF3E2.jpegC5CF8C44-0716-40B3-BCC2-307BE8F8AD79.jpeg

That's entirely your choice. Can't kill a deer, ANY deer, unless you fling an arrow. If meat is the important thing then maybe you better take what's available. Does also seem to taste just a little better to some folks. First year and with a recurve to boot? Take that doe. Get one under your belt. Good luck!

You have all the time in the world. Seems to me like you dont really want to shoot a doe, but youre trying to let yourself be talked into it. If thats the case, i think youd regret it.

I remember years ago, I killed 2 bucks chasing the same doe on opening day 45 minutes into the season " gun season". I'll never do that again. I remember going after some does later, but it wasn't the same. Its about the hunt.

I hunted three years with my bow before I killed something with it. It's a steep hurdle to jump, and once you do you'll feel everything come together.

Shoot what makes you happy, but shoot.