Advice for D16

ira00019

Hello everyone,
This is my first year archery hunting. I’ve been hunting on Camp Pendleton for the past couple weeks. But haven’t had a whole lotta luck. Big downfall to hunting the base is that we can only hunt weekends. Anyways, was wanting to get into hunting during the week in D16/San Diego, but honestly don’t even know where to really start?(location wise) Any advice would be HIGHLY appreciated. I would also like to note that I’m moving out of state this December. So you won’t have to worry about the advice you’d give, since I’d be leaving the state, for future seasons.
-thanks!

Welcome to Hunt Talk forum. You are military? I will give you this. Palomar mountain (find Aguanga Ridge) and Laguna Mountains would be a start. High fire danger up there right now. You can also give F&G in San Diego a call and talk to the deer biologist. The lions share of deer are killed on private (no pun intended). I would think you would have a better chance on Pendleton.
Good luck

Last edited:
Yes sir, I am military. I’ll do some research on those areas. Maybe this year is just a bad year on the base, but a lot of others agree. A close friend of mine whom usually has success hasn’t seen much. I will say that it seems like hunting on the base has become more and more popular. Maybe it’s a “pressure” thing?
Anyways like mentioned earlier, we’re only allowed to hunt on weekends. So I want raise my opportunities at harvesting a deer by hunting during the week in d16. I’ve even considered camping out ?