Caribou Gear Tarp

Adding weight

jerm8352

Just got some new Black Eagle Spartan arrows for hunting in Wy. The will be about 460 grains with broad heads. I was thinking of adding a 50 or 75 grain brass weight to the front to improve FOC. How much of a pain is this to do? I am new to archery and know I would have to invest in a few tools to do this but was wondering how much of a hassle it would be add the inserts? Thanks in advance.

Are your inserts hot melt glued? If so, screw in a field point heat it until glue comes loose then swap out heavier insert system.
Do you know if your inserts have threads in the back? You can add that way if you do. A special tool is needed and some loktite once you find the weight you want.
Bigger broadheads...they get huge

Black eagle sells screw in weights for the Spartan arrows. A special tool aka a really long Allen wrench is needed. A pro shop might be able to install some for you. It's really easy you just take out the mock and run the weight in and screw it in.

Why mess with pulling the inserts? Pull the nock and slide 50 grains of weed eater line down the shaft. Kink it a few times to keep it from rattling and you’re all set.
Remember to retune you bow no matter how you add the weight.

Why mess with pulling the inserts? Pull the nock and slide 50 grains of weed eater line down the shaft. Kink it a few times to keep it from rattling and you’re all set.

If he wants to improve foc, I think a heavier insert and/or broadhead will do that better than weed eater line. Interesting idea for adding overall weight though.

old school right there. From back when we had to do stuff ourselves and everything wasn’t just run out and buy the latest greatest. 👍🏻

Black eagle sells screw in weights for the Spartan arrows. A special tool aka a really long Allen wrench is needed. A pro shop might be able to install some for you. It's really easy you just take out the mock and run the weight in and screw it in.