Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

300 WSM Load Development

G. McAlister

I have been loading for several years now and want to try and branch out to develop a load that isn’t by the book, at least not that I can find. I want to make a 165/168 grain load using either Nosler E-Tips or Barnes TTSX using Hybrid 100V powder.

Can anyone give advice, warnings, insight on how to go about doing this? With powder and components being so rare in my area, I am trying to use what I have, which is 8 lbs of Hybrid 100V, which I use in my 180 gr. Bullet load for the same rifle.

I am doing the exact same thing with my 300wsm 168ttsx an H4350.
I previously tried some H4831sc that I have. I wasn't able to reach velocity before I ran out of case capacity. The only other powder I could get that should work is H4350 so I am giving it a whirl. I am currently at 66gr H4350 168ttsx, wlrm primers, 3050fps and 2.995 c.o.a.l
Out of a 22" proof carbon barrel.
This seems about right but there might be more with a different powder.
So far in my short time loading for the wsm it looks like a faster powder to help with case capacity is helpful.
I am very curious what you come up with the hybrid 100v

As always work up to this load info.

Given the much higher weight retention of terminal mono bullets, I like 150 grain TTSX for 300WSM. My handload is 150gr TTSX at 3175pfs out of a 24" barrel using 58.0gr H4895, CCI magnum primers and Nosler brass (work up from lower load of course). My velocity SDs are 11 and my typical 5 shot group size is 0.90 MOA. I haven't taken the time to dial in bullet seating (currently at the Barnes recommended starting point of 0.050" off the lands), and since this is plenty good for my hunting needs I probably won't bother.