What's your comfort level reloading for others?

Dougfirtree

I'm going to loan a rifle to a buddy of mine, so that his kid and my kid can go hunting together next year. I have a good handload for the loaner rifle that would be great for this boy, who is new to hunting. But, I have this little nervous voice, in the back of my head, about sending someone else's kid out to shoot my handloads. The voice says, "what if you screwed up a charge and the rifle explodes?" I've been handloading for 5 years, or so and I've never had anything close to a negative experience. This is a known load to me, I let my kids shoot it and it's a reduced load, using H 4895. I know rationally that it's very safe.

Just curious how others feel about reloading for other people, in terms of safety and peace of mind?

As long as the other guy knows and it wasn’t a hot load, I would not hesitate. If you are a careful loader then the odds of your screw-up probably aren’t any greater than factory.

I am sure a competent lawyer would tell you not to ;)

Last edited:
I used to do it. Loaded for four RUMS. I don't load anything for anybody anymore. And I can count on two fingers the guys I would trust loading for me. mtmuley

I load for family.

What process do you think you could do that is the highest risk?
Charging? Can you double charge 4895 for your case?

Maybe load 20 double weighing each charge. Do it as a special run.
Check each one to ensure it chambers and ejects.
Check each one for oal.
Just do everything you need to make yourself comfortable.

You can’t drive yourself crazy worrying about it.
If you can’t be comfortable with your work, buy a box of factory for him.

Seems like the last two years I’ve gotten more popular with my non-reloading friends. I load for several people and use the same caution/procedures as I do for every round I’ve ever loaded. I don’t load reduced loads though, anything outside of published data I would think twice.