VLD style mono?

mtmuley

A good friend of mine has decided to do something he enjoys for a living. Try to anyway. I'm just trying to guage interest in a VLD style all-copper bullet. I'll post some pics when I get home from what I do for a living. mtmuley

HSM Trophy Gold which uses VLDs is my off the shelf ammo of choice. If a VLD style bullet was offered in solid copper I'd be extremely interested in it, particularly when I start reloading again.

Sounds interesting. Do you think you would run into OAL issues with the added length that would come from the lighter weight of copper? I am assuming he is looking to take something mike a Barnes LRX to the next level.

I started playing around with VLD's in the early 2000's for cross course HP for a dedicated 600 yard round. I was using JLK's 90 grain in a fast twist 1 in 6.5 barrel on my .223. They were very good bullets but always found VLD's to be a lot more finicky than a bullet with a more forgiving ogive.

In the end they didn't help me read the wind any better, they didn't make my rifle any more accurate, they might of saved me a click or two here and there but the cost and finicky nature of them didn't bring anything to the table I didn't already have. Now on further distances of 1000 yards or more those saved clicks could be a serious factor but not for 600 yards in.

So, for a practical hunting bullet of 400 yards shots or so I don't see any need for a mono vld. That's just me and everyone to their own. I believe it would be a very limited market but sometimes if you create the want factor the need doesn't matter.