PEAX Equipment

Utah general-season bull elk question

Skynard

Thought I could get in on an OTC Idaho elk or deer tag....thought wrong, haha. They are all gone as you know. I'm looking into other options and came across the Utah general season bull elk permits. Specifically, the any bull units and hunters choice units. I'm new to elk hunting and know nothing about Utah. Would it be worth trying to buy one of these tags? What's the deal with these? Are they in low density elk units? Better than Colorado 2nd draw/OTC?

Figured I would see if some more seasoned elk hunters would know about these tags. I literally know nothing about elk hunting or elk tags. Thanks! IMAGE 7-2-20 AT 07.56.jpeg

Thought I could get in on an OTC Idaho elk or deer tag....thought wrong, haha. They are all gone as you know. I'm looking into other options and came across the Utah general season bull elk permits. Specifically, the any bull units and hunters choice units. I'm new to elk hunting and know nothing about Utah. Would it be worth trying to buy one of these tags? What's the deal with these? Are they in low density elk units? Better than Colorado 2nd draw/OTC?

Figured I would see if some more seasoned elk hunters would know about these tags. I literally know nothing about elk hunting or elk tags. Thanks! View attachment 145501
Some of the any bull units (Henry Mtns, others) have very few elk and some are going to be a very tough hunt without access to private land (East of Monticello). The any bull units in the Uintahs are alright.

Like Pelican said, I would emphasize the "alright" about the Uintas. Carve out plenty of time and put your game face on...