Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Southern Oregon Bear Hunting Mentor Needed

RG_Adult_Onset_Hunter

Apparently I live in the WMU for Southern Oregon that has the highest annual take for black bear each year. I'd like to be one of those folks but I am having a hard time putting it all together. I have found a fair amount of sign in the Evans Creek Unit, but I would like to hunt nearer to home in the Applegate WMU. The biggest hurdle I have had so far is finding experienced hunters willing to help out. I am not looking for someone's honey hole. But I am new to hunting in general and I know that there is ZERO substitute for first hand and hands on experience lent from mentors.

I am hoping to find someone willing to help me figure out how to find my own good bear spots and how to hunt them effectively. We don't allow baiting or hounds in this area (bummer on the second one in my opinion), so what advice can you lend for someone in my area (for finding mentors or bears)?

I thought I might take a second to refresh this post. I did not want to go into my reasons for wanting to do a bear hunt in the first place, but since I've had no luck I figure a bit of explanation might prove useful.

On December 14th 2018 I killed my first black bear, it was the worst night of my life. I will not go into the details of the event other than to say that it was a legal shooting of an animal in defense of livestock, and I was forced to put both the bear and my llama down. I will also say that the behavior of the bear was incredibly unusual do to an injury it had on it's tongue preventing it from foraging properly. The llama was a friend, and the bear was too thin to do anything with. It was a pointless waste of life. I wanted to hunt a black bear before that, but now, I need to.