Smart Watch Recommendations

406LIFE

Since I got out of the military I stopped wearing watches. Now that I see smart watches can do a lot more,I'm thinking of getting one.

Any recommendations and how you use them while in the mountains hunting and fishing?

I have a Fitbit Ionic and mostly use it to track how high I can get my heart rate up without dying on steep ascents, and how badly I sleep in a tent. I’d probably be better off not knowing...

I am a mountain newb so take it for what that is worth but I really didn’t get much extra value from my Apple Watch in CO this fall. It’s value comes from the apps you have on your phone and if they have any features for the watch. I use onX and they really don’t use it much. I believe Gaia has some pin drop features. But again a bit limited. There are some garmin options that have an altimeter and better gps tools.
the heart rate feature is nifty but I don’t need a smart watch to tell me my butt was getting kicked. I am inclined to use a good ol fashion watch with real hands so I can use it as a compass of sorts if all my tech gadgets fail me.

I have an apple watch series 5 and love it. It's as useful as Garmins or other variants as it has apps with GPS and Altimeter which I use a lot. However, it's not the most beneficial for backcountry hunting because it has to be charged daily and although it can have cellular capability, its not nearly as powerful as a phone and its hard to get a call out in spotty service.

i have a slightly older Suunto Vector that i love, it's not smart though, and even for a younger guy i love that about it

simply a barometric altimeter, and of course a barometer (therefore you must calibrate it occasionally at known elevations - much easier with Onx now instead of trying to triangulate/intersecting yourself on a topo line with landscape features or whatnot) and a digital compass, oh yeah, and time