Shoulders Suck

Brian in Montana

Well... Since I was old enough to walk I played baseball until I graduated high school. I was a pitcher all that time and pretty much threw my arm away. I've had shoulder pain off and on most my life but for the last year and a half or so it's gotten persistent and at times debilitating. I finally went to the doctor for it today and he says it's a rotator cuff injury, hard to say how bad exactly, but gave me some prescription antiinflammatory and made a referral to physical therapy, which I really didn't want.

Last fall I didn't even bow hunt because my shoulder was bad, I could feel it shift around inside the joint when drawing. I'm tempted to go into PT and say - get me to where I can draw a bow again. I've always kept my compound bow cranked up to 70lbs, but supposing PT doesn't really work, or not entirely... I don't know. Not really sure what I'm asking. Just sorta pissy about it. How low do you suppose I could reduce my draw weight and still put a Viper Trick through an elk?

Any of you had this problem? I've definitely gotten more into rifles than ever before, but I don't want to give up the September mornings trying to talk a bull into bow range.

Brian, have you gotten a MRI on it? I had the exact same thing going with my right shoulder. Doctor, and i both thought it was rotator cuff. Frozen shoulder, and a lot of pain to lift right arm/shoulder. Had MRI in December, got the results and it was rotator cuff tendonitis. Physical Therapy is helping 1000% more than I would have thought it would have. It is healing much quicker than I thought it would.
Give the PT a shot. Get an MRI Brian. Good luck with it sir!

Yeah, it sucks. I've fought shoulder pain for years. Did a bunch of PT, which helped (it can make a huge difference which physical therapist you work with, I finally found one who is a shoulder guru, so don't be afraid to shop around if it isn't working or improving).