Sell me a smoker

Nick87

Just like the title says. I need a new smoker I would prefer a vertical smoker because I use it just as much for doing jerky and sausage in large amounts. My last one was electric which I had no problems with for about six years until it crapped out. I'm open to any suggestion propane, pellet, or electric. I've been looking at the pit boss brand so far. I'd like to keep it under $450. Thanks in advance for all the input.

I have a Masterbuilt electric smoker that works fine for jerky and summer sausage. I like the built in temp probe and being able to program the specific temperature and time. Capacity wise, I wish the dimensions were slightly bigger but not a big deal. One drawback is I find myself having to finish large chunks (pork shoulder) or large diameter sausages (like summer sausage) in the oven to hit the final internal temperature. I don't mind having to do so but would be nice not having to transfer to inside the house.

For purely smoking I like a dedicated electric smoker. Just too easy to control a lower smoking temp for a longer smoke.

My Traeger works but the lowest temp is 225 which is higher than I like.

I have been eying up the pit boss vertical pellet smoker, I have had a pit boss pellet grill for like five years and it has served me good.

I have a couple basic electric smokers that I've used a few decades for smoking salmon and various sausages. They work okay but don't generate the higher temps needed for smoking and cooking roasts.

Recently, I picked up a Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker. It's made of quality materials and well regarded in the BBQ world. It is more manual than the auto electric pellet units but you might want to check it out. A good web resource is at: https://www.virtualweberbullet.com/