NEW SITKA Ambient 75

Rifle Coatings

Bambistew

Anyone coated a rifle DIY? I'm looking at GunKote, or possibly Duracoat. Not opposed to rattle can either, but want to have decent protection. Any other options?

I've access to a bead/sand/soda blaster to clean up the metal. Its a stainless barrel and blue action. The action is the new "cheap" Remington that will rust by just looking at it.

Wtf?

Kimber not good enough anymore?

Never tried a DIY coating but lots of smiths can bake on a ceracote

Wtf?

Kimber not good enough anymore?

Never tried a DIY coating but lots of smiths can bake on a ceracote

Found a good deal on a barrel/stock combo that I couldn't pass up... I'd like to get a Talkeetna, but would rather spend the money on Super Cub time. I've been needing another 375 since I parted with my last one a couple years ago.

I read conflicting stories about Ceracote. Most think its a step above Duracote, but behind GunKote? I have no experience with coatings so I'm unsure.

The difference really is Cera and Dura can be sprayed on, and GK needs to be baked on.

Smiths want $250-300 to coat one here. I can do it for $25-40 materials. I think I'm going with GK, but just wondering if I'm wasting my time and should just a $4 can of Kylon and call it good.

Sorry, no experience with the DIY gun coatings, but I will say I spent the money ($135 ish) and had my x-bolt done with the Cerakote. So far, I have been very happy with it and wish I had done it sooner.

I'd think anything that requires heat to cure would be 'tougher' than an air cure, then again I'm often wrong. Dyna-Tech's Bore Coat and and Gun Shield have gotten good reviews, but I'm thinking they are not as permanent as you'd like. Another type of coating that may be of interest to you, but it costs about the same as what you posted for a gunsmith there to coat would be a hard chrome finish.