Reloading 338 win mag

rjthehunter

Well after making a move and finally settling down again I was able to get the ball rolling with reloading. With a nice shop in the garage to do it, and some free time, I ordered everything I needed to get started.

After researching for awhile, I decided to start with RL19 powder, Federal 215 primers, 200 sst Hornady bullets, and some brass I've saved from Hornady sst I had been shooting for several years prior.

I decided to stick with the SST bullets as I've had pretty good luck with them through the gun thus far. I've also read good things about nosler accubond and am willing to order some of those also (if I can find anyone with some in stock).

Looking for any advice before the powder, bullets, and primers come in. What's everyone else using for powder in larger rifles? I know there's a few guys on here who shoot 338s also, what are you shooting for bullets and why? Also, why did you go with a specific weight bullet?

I've shot the SSTs out to 500 yards with pretty good results. But I'm hoping to develop a more accurate and consistant load I can shoot further with. I enjoy shooting at longer ranges but once I get past 500, factory ammo isn't doing it for me anymore.

I've had good results with Fed 215 primers and IMR 4350 powder. I've had good results with 210 partitions, 250 partitions, 225 Barnes X bullets. I have not gotten good results with 225 Accubonds. Currently I have been shooting Barnes 225 grain TTSX and have great results with them. I've stayed with Fed 215 and IMR4350 and it has been consistent. Re 19 has also showed positive results with the 225TTSX. Hope this helps.
Dan