Questions on Scope Details

flux

I am brand new to shooting/hunting, trying to pick the right scope but overwhelmed by all of the options, would really appreciate the communities input before I make a decision. I just got a Tikka T3X Lite Stainless in 308 for Colorado elk hunting and I think I want to add a Leupold VX-3i 3.5-10x40.

Do you recommend getting the model with CDS? I have never shot more than 50 yards before so it is hard for me to comprehend the benefits, I know I have a lot of practice ahead of me. I could afford a VX-5HD but it just seems like more scope than I need as a beginner?

Is a duplex reticle best for a beginner due to simplicity?

Is there any downside to aluminum bases/rings aside from cost? I am trying to save weight as I will be doing all of my hunting on foot for the foreseeable future.

Leupold offers a one piece base/ring or a cross-slot rail. The rail would be heavier but I think it would offer more adjustability when mounting my scope, are there any other factors to consider?

-Chris

I think you're on the right track, I hunted all my life using 3-9X40 scopes with duplex reticles, usually shooting under 250 yards and just recently have gotten interested in expanding my range so have gotten into the adjustable turret style scopes. For a beginner I'd say stick with no CDS and no side focus (parallax) knob. I think the VX-3 line will be fine, just looked through the 4.5-14X40 of a friend's, nicer than anything I hunted with for my first 25 years, in a few years if you want to start expanding range and learning about MOAs or MRADs you can upgrade. If you can afford the VX-5, you can afford good rings.

I'll answer some of your questions:

- You are likely to have this scope a long time so think what will hinder me as a new shooter, more than what do I need
- I have a CDS but don't even know how much I'll use it. Not ordering it for current rifle.