Oregon

Jeffminokla

I'm looking into a western mule deer hunt but don't see much about Oregon. Is it overlooked or just not as good as ID, MT, CO, etc? Any input would be appreciated.

As a Montana native, long time Oregon resident and someone who has hunted mule deer in many other Western States, yes.....there is a reason. Mule deer are doing very poorly in Oregon. All tags, both resi and non-resident are limited and only 5% to NR. I would look elsewhere, personally. In fact, as an Oregon resident, I rarely hunt Oregon for mule deer. Other states typically get my $ instead.

Oregon F&G does not manage for quality hunts for deer nor elk. Also, sub 10% of deer and elk tags actually are in draw for NR. Add in restricted logging which means no open meadow for elk that then transition a decade later into deer habitat. Oregon outlawed dogs to chase bears. Wolves now have several packs in Oregon. Lots of cougar and coyotes will steal from cougars so that increases deer kills by cougars.

If you want a blacktail deer or Roosevelt elk then Oregon has some opportunity without taking years to draw a tag. Otherwise, is a flush of good money.

Oregon is tough for nonresidents. It costs a lot of money to apply and build points, and, as was already pointed out, NRs are allocated very few tags. There are some good hunts to be had, but unless you live close by and can really do some scouting, it wouldn’t be worth it in the long run to keep applying in Oregon.

Jeff, I've lived in OR, MT, WY, and CO. If you're a NR, I think there are better and more affordable states to apply to. But I always had great luck hunting deer in OR, and you can get into some quality NR rifle hunts with just a couple of points in eastern/northeastern OR. So, if you have some kind of connection to the state like I do (family), it may be worth your while.