ok heres the deal

dgibson

I suck at that stuff, too, Del! One tactic I like to use when I start getting angry is to stop trying to do the point-counter point thing and start making the other guy answer specific questions, and badger him until he does. They'll squirm, try to change the subject by making some offhand comment, etc., but you just keep after him by saying "that doesn't answer the question" and asking it again. Airbags HATE being put on the spot. But you have to be ready to back up your questions with facts, too.

Other than that, you might try inviting him outside with a beer bottle.
wink.gif
tongue.gif

Del, I've had some experience at public speaking and we are always doing some kind of presentation around here. I have two suggestions that may help.

1. Make a list of your points on 3X5 cards and take them with you. Refer to them frequently while you're talking. Be extremely diligent about making all of the points you've written down and rehersed. If you concentrate hard enough on your points, you won't waste time getting upset. Afterall, if you get angry, you might as well just concede what ever points you're trying to make and not say anything at all.

2. If you have a problem with emotion and getting carried away, take someone with you who will be embarassed if you fly off the handle. It has to be someone you care about and whose feelings are important to you. That may add the extra control you need.

Hope these help.. If they don't you may think about finding someone with less interest in the issues but better emotional control and a more logical approach to represent you at these meetings...

cool.gif

Just remember you catch more flies with honey than vinegar. When debating in public, I find it important to mimic the tone and mannerisms of the others (to a point). The best advice I can give is to practice. Dan's advice is good also, about having specific points outlined. That gives you a goal to accomplish.