PEAX Equipment

NV Muley

PackMule21

Greetings & Cheers everyone,

I am admittedly a pretty green hunter. Last year was my first year in the mountains and got a Cow Elk! I am a NV resident and active duty who finally got station back in the state. I was blessed enough to be one of the 450 to draw the early Mule Deer Buck in the 111-113 area. I have yet to put boots on ground out there as I live in the Vegas area. I do plan on a few scouting trips though. I talked to a few folks and everyone says hunt off Success Loop, but that seems like it could get rather busy. From my map work, I am leaning towards The Kalamazoo area or down around Cave Lake area. I know there is alot of wilderness area which is tough going. I am in good shape, but may be hunting it solo. A few questions for those that know the area....should I set up a trailer as a base camp and go from there, or do more of a spike camp? The season is Oct 5-20 (full moon Oct 12th), the temps will still be a little warm and it will be pre-rut, will I even see any of the big guys walking around? Any other tips or things to consider. Like I said this is my first deer hunt. Thanks!

I’ve looked into Unit 111 in particular a fair bit but haven’t hunted it (haven’t drawn the tag). If it were me I’d be backpacking up into the High Schells Wilderness. High elevation, away from road, and likely, away from those other 449 tag holders. A solo backpack hunt may be a tall order for your first mule deer though. Whatever you do, get up high and sit behind glass (ideally on a tripod) for as long as you can stand it. Good luck on your hunt!

I'd make sure you have the right equipment and know how to quarter the animal. Also, make damn sure people know where to find you if your not back by a certain day.

What branch?

Good luck! I hope you fill the freezer.