Northwest MT Whitetail Question

RuralMT

Good evening folks. I hope you're tagged out and stress-free on your Thanksgiving weekend, and if not, I hope you shoot straight tomorrow/Sunday! Anyway, I have a question regarding the whitetail population in NW MT. While I'm not new to Montana, I'm relatively new to Eureka, as I'm only going on my 4th year of working/living/hunting up here. This is definitely now home, and I'm currently traversing the learning curve of hunting the area. Can anyone answer the following question: why are whitetails so abundant in the NW corner of the state? I'm by no means complaining. Having filled yet another tag this year, I'm thrilled to have another year's worth of delectable meat in the freezer. However, I am curious as to why they predominate up here as opposed to mule deer, which seem to have taken it on the chin in recent decades. Any thoughts?

A quick excerpt on the stud of whitetail in NW MT.

1575086391044.png

Trying to link the study though it's a .pdf... <EDIT> Attached the .pdf
A bit long read though one I read a while ago as the interest for the high mountain whitetail that exist in good numbers is also pretty surprising.

Attachments

• whiteTailInSalishResearchArvhice.pdf
    9.7 MB · Views: 14
Last edited:
Excellent, some winter-reading; thanks Sytes! I completely agree, they are a rather unique animal. I've enjoyed getting to know them and have come to appreciate their uniqueness. Having not grown up here, though, I'm curious if they've out-competed the mule deer, or if they're a niche animal taking advantage of under-utilized resources. Perhaps the extensive study Sytes attached will inform me.

they are each suited better to different environments. As habitats change, it favors one animal over the other.