Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Non-resident Idaho tag frenzy

I've made this point before. But I've gone 3 years without seeing a legal critter in WA. Now I'm no JLS, a dude who consistently gets in done in WA. But it really could get a lot, and I mean A LOT worse in many of these western destination states before it wouldn't be worth it.

Also in our elk unit in ID (you know the one we could hunt before this CF waiting room BS), we were the only ones walking on the non-motorized trail all the crusty residents were bombing around on some form of atv.

Ah I see your perspective.

I worked in law enforcement. Yes I've pulled people over for speeding. Yes I've let people off for minor stuff. I've also felt completely fine handing over a citation for excess. And YES! since I've switched careers I have cited people as a citizen. You know you can do that right? You have every right to interrupt a violation or personally charge the violation.

If I see a 3 year old grabbing a candy bar in a store I mention it. Unintentional happens.

This was 8 adults filling their pockets in a store and me calling them out on the store loudly. You're the type to stand back and make a phone call. That's ok. Really. Somebody else will take care of it.

Don't blame me for being the guy to point it out when it happens.
🤔

I spoke with a few other NR hunters in ID this year. I was told more than once that the outfitter that they drop camp in with just has all their guides and relatives go stand in line and buy their clients tags over the counter. Not even using the allotted outfitter tags. It certainly seems like this should not be legal.

I personally don’t “have” to kill anything but I enjoy coming out west to hunt or be a part of a hunt. If anyone wants to come to my home state and fill their 3-5 deer tags then have at it. I can possibly even provide a spot that is less than 247 yards from the road.