Caribou Gear Tarp

NL Pure Vs EL Experiences

NDGuy

Debating between the two, I have been saving gift cards for a few years and sold my other optics so can afford either.

Just curious on other's thoughts if they think the NL Pures are worth the extra grand. Seems most seem to lean that the Pures are better FOV/ERGO/Eye relief but give a slight edge to ELs in low light.

Debating between the two, I have been saving gift cards for a few years and sold my other optics so can afford either.

Just curious on other's thoughts if they think the NL Pures are worth the extra grand. Seems most seem to lean that the Pures are better FOV/ERGO/Eye relief but give a slight edge to ELs in low light.
I think they are worth the extra grand.

I've owned two swaros, a 10x42 and a 10x30.
For my eyes I didn't find them worth the money.
I've now acquired a pair of maven b3 10x30 and they just suit my eyes to where I'm constantly amazed by their performance.
I go with the small size as at the tender age of 73 I'm trying to save weight, do lots of tahr hunting, so every oz counts. For 500 dollars top of the list for me, now to be honest the small size does get a bit of getting used to, but just a wee niggle that I don't mind.

I have both, 8.5x42 ELs and 10x42 Pures.

I didn’t like the Pures when I first got them but they have grown on me. They are now my primary glass. I think it was just being used to 8.5 ELs Vs 10s. Still love my ELs. I’m going to send them to Swaro for a rehab after 16 years.

You won’t go wrong with either glass. I can give you pros and cons of both but they’re both great glass.

The Pures are “bright” glass. Ask me after this years elk hunting for a better review.

I think the NL’s are better in every way from the EL. If you’re a fan of the EL, you’ll most likely enjoy the view through the NL.