Yeti GOBOX Collection

New to HuntTalk and new to hunting

TN Wild Man

Hey everybody! I was just listening to one of the Hunttalk Radio podcasts and decided that it was finally time to take the plunge and join up here at the forum. I'll break the introduction into a short and long version.

Short and Sweet:
I'm new to hunting, but I harvested my first whitetail deer last winter outside of Gatesville, TX. Since then I've been slowly been chipping away a the deer in my freezer in Houston (where I live and work). I'm looking forward to learning much much more about hunting and hopefully meeting some great people here on the foum.

Longer version:
I was born and raised in southeastern Tennessee (a couple small towns north of Chattanooga) and grew up hiking, camping, scouting, and target shooting. My father grew up in the same part of the country and hunted squirrels and rabbits when he was young, but he had essentially lost interest in most outdoor activities by the time I was old enough to tag along. He and I did do a pretty fair amount of target shooting together which was fantastic.

I moved around the country a bit and worked through my early twenties and eventually ended up coming back to eastern Tennessee to go to college. Fast forward a few years and now I work as a Geologist in Houston, TX. My wife and I have been married for 10 years, and we've got three little boys (7, 4, and 1.5) and a baby girl on the way. About three years ago one of my coworkers introduced me to sporting clays (very popular around Houston), and I haven't had any reason to pick up a golf club since.