PEAX Equipment

Nephew headed to Fort Hood...anyone around to connect him with?

SFC B

My nephew Jacob is about to finish AIT as a track mechanic and has gotten orders to beautiful, scenic Ft. Hood. I have been talking to him about taking advantage of all of the outdoors he can. He is a great young man who decided to serve and see some of the world other the Hoosier land and I am expecting good things from him in our Army :) Anyone out there in HT land in the Ft Hood area that might be willing to do some mentoring with him? He has been bowhunting for 2 years now ( I haven't had the op to hunt with him) and is excited about getting into waterfowl and rifle hunting as well. I believe he will get there around the end of the month. Feel free to PM me and thanks in advance!!

Yep I was a mechanic at ft hood 2010-2014. Ft hood has over 250000 acres of training areas that you can get access to hunt through the sportsman's center on base. It is free to soldiers and if the public wants they can pay about 350 for access. Good dove hunting and duck if you scout enough. The rifle hunts are run kind of on a first come first serve booking for each stand. Archery is open access to everyone so that's how I hunted. Good pig Turkey and whitetail numbers.
It's a pain having to call the automated hunt number to check into your area but it is nice as they will shut down an area once it reaches its capacity of hunters. Honestly it is a pretty good thing they have going there.
The sportsmans center also has rifle/shotgun ranges and a good cafe with an awesome catfish basket.

Side note. If he is going to live in the barracks I would recommend getting a small storage unit off base to keep his guns in or else he will have to have then in the arms room and good luck checking them out on a timely basis for your hunt if you can get someone who has the key to come at all on the weekend.