Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Mule Deer Advice! MT

dsmith1999

Hey everyone,

I have a doe tag and a buck mule deer tag in montana this year and it is my first year ever going hunting and ever trying to take a animal! Im extremely excited and am getting everything I need ready. My question is do you have any advice for a first time hunter that will be going alone most of the time? I will be using an older Lee Enfield and probably going on day hunts or single night hunts. Anything helps! Wish me luck!

Get of off the road and don't walk too fast or much. As in spend a lot of time on your butt with a good pare of binoculars.
Behind every tree and sage. Big bucks too, make sure you hold out for one over thirty wide and massive.
One is good advice, the other is pure satire. Shouldn't be too hard to figure out the one to ignore.

Be prepared to cover some ground with your vehicle moving to different areas to find the deer. Binocs and spotting scope are your friend. I hunted SE MT last fall and was limited by muddy roads but finally got into good numbers of deer on day 5. After passing up a few small muleys and whitetails, on day 6 I killed a 144" 5x6 whitetail on BLM land. I was hoping for a mule deer but couldn't pass up a mature bruiser whitetail like that. The pack out was rough but worth it.

Landowners will be happy in most cases to let you take a doe off the haystack and the much will be a challenge if your looking for the poster buck. Radar sums it up like always hike, glass, have a great time!

Don't listen to 8dinksandcounting....... probably better advice than any😁