Montana Elk Permits

Okay, my question is simple but I just want to get a good answer. I have been applying for the same unit as 10,000 others have for the past four years and was just wondering why on the Montana elk permit sheet there are three options for you to place a unit. Is there really an area you can draw by placing it as number three?

okay so here is my thoughts...choice one is a slim to slim chance, if you dont get selected do you still get to be placed in your second choice selections? meaning do you get lumped in with all those peeps that put your second choice as their first? Or do you only get a chance to draw your second selection if there are leftovers after all the others that had that unit as their first selection? And lastly, there are areas that are 100% draws, if I place that as my last choice am I going to get that permit if I dont get the first two?

Is there really any chance to draw your second selection if your second selection is less than 100% draw odds?

I love hunting elk and everything that is elk but this permit thing I really never got so please inform me...thanks and I hope this wasnt too confusing.

All the first choice applicants get drawn first. The second choice folks get a shot if there are any tags leftover. Then third choice applicants get a chance. Yes, there are units where you can draw your third choice.

Not sure but 1 theory could be,
Your name is drawn. Then they check to see if your 1st choice is filled. If not, you get that permit. If filled they check your second choice. If not, you get that permit. If it is filled thay move on to #3.
Most assume that they declare a unit first and then begin drawing names-I don't believe that is the case.

Is there really any chance to draw your second selection if your second selection is less than 100% draw odds?