Caribou Gear

Map reading course

Cammy

Reading the thread on Garim's ransom I wondered where a person would be able to get map reading skills. Does anyone know of a course other than someone's you-tube video? I can read maps from my military experience but where would the average "Joe" find instructions? I struggle with distance traveled when using maps and would like to "brush up" on some of what I haven't used in a while.

I had my first map reading course in the Army then took a collage course in maps and map reading a few years later. One of those easy credit summer courses. One of my Nephews asked me to teach him how t read a map. I taught him the basics but soon realized it takes Many many hours to really learn everything a map can tell you.

Found a couple of resources on line and one looks pretty good. $150.00 is a bit more than my budget can afford for a course like this.

Man, I wonder the same thing. I have little experience with reading maps, I’ve seen some books on amazon. But assumed most that can be found for free on the web now.

I’ll keep following this thread in case someone post something.

@huntnpack thank you I will look into to those. Here in South Texas if you cross a fence. Your on the wrong side of the property to be pulling a trigger maps are needed. But we are going hunting out west this year first time figure I needed to learn something before I go.

Just remember there are a number of " you can't get there from here" places out west. The topog will give you the trend but can't reveal the cliffs that exist between the contours. I have a number of maps with "don't go here" written on them after some field recon.

@huntnpack thank you I will look into to those. Here in South Texas if you cross a fence. Your on the wrong side of the property to be pulling a trigger maps are needed. But we are going hunting out west this year first time figure I needed to learn something before I go.