Looking for any sort of bowhunting tips for California A and B zone blacktails.

Bhb22398

Hello everyone, I'll try and keep this fairly short and to the point. I am currently a college student, living in central California. I grew up bowhunting whitetails on private land back east, and am currently at a loss as to how blacktails move (or don't) during the day. I am situated next to the Santa Lucia wilderness in San Luis Obispo. I plan on hunting an AO tag until I either tag out, or the season ends. With no real access or ties to anyone with private land, I was hoping that I could get some tips on hunting blacktails this summer and fall. Any sort of advice will do, especially valuable is info on deer behavior, good public land for hunting, types of cover they like, or even gear. I plan on spending a full week backpacking somewhere in B zone, and will have weekends off to hunt anywhere that I like in south A zone. No advice is too small, thanks.

Last edited:
A zone archery on public is tough because of how early in the year it takes place but there are deer to be had. I think Archery starts like a week or two out there. The amount of hunters on public land in A zone makes you question the declining Hunter numbers. But your best bet to be on the mountain before the sun comes up and try to glass them before they bed down for the day.