live+work in Cali but own ranch out of state

dirtnap_nation

Hey guys so I’m a general contractor and I live in sf bay California. I hate the politics and the people and the hunting sucks but it’s hard to argue with the money you make here. We have a small property here in California and we have horses on it which is pretty awesome. My dads buddy owns a hunting property in Idaho but lives and runs his own company in California so he can work here most months but during elk and deer season he stays in Idaho and just runs the business from there. I was thinking about trying to do the same thing but in Montana or Wyoming and than just hiring a ranch foreman to look after the property and my livestock when I’m in California working. Than since I make California money I can live a comfortable life but go out there regularly and be there for most of hunting season. What do you guys think of this plan? I will eventually move to that property but while I’m young and still can work hard and make money I think I should. Do any of you guys do this?

Great plan if you have a private plane with decent cruising speed.
Bad plan if you have active children. When the kids get busy, you won’t have time to go to the ranch.

To me it seems there is enough public land out there that I wouldn’t bother with a ranch, but if money is no issue then why not as long as you’re looking at it as a retirement home. Only thing to keep in mind is how much work it can be to maintain land. If you have kids it can be difficult to find this time...

Double check residency rules for the targeted ranch state. (There was some stink about a Montana politician wannabe claiming Montana resident status, and getting into hot water)