Hunting Corn fields

Moosie

Grand poopa
I have NO experience with it. But my buddy drew a tag in Oregon, and jsut got permission to hunt a river bottom surrounded by corn fields. the owner asked if Warren wanted the corn left on, or cut prior to the hunt.

Does anyone have any experience with this type of hunting ? Would it be better to cut the corn or no? Any other advice on hunting private land ?

His best bet would to be to figure out where the deer are bedding. When I lived in Texas the guys who didn't use feeders would set up their stands at entry points to their fields. They had more success shooting them as they left or made their way onto the field rather than actually on it.

The places where I hunt, the deer bed, live, eat in the corn when its standing. I much perfer it to be cut to force them into the woods where i can kill them. The best would be to have it cut about a week before the season starts or less. Deer love fresh cut/spilled corn on the cob. :D

I second what Bambi said. Tell him to cut it shortly before the hunt. the deer will still feed there....or leave a small piece close to the stand

When is the hunt? How big is the corn field?

The size of the field would be the biggest factor of whether to cut it or leave it standing. Bambi is correct that deer will hole up in corn fields (especially after even light hunting pressure). I love hunting small standing fields at this time though because even a small field will concentrate alot of animals. To me the most important detail of stand placement is not being on top of a trail going in and out of the corn but being able to look down the rows from above (I like a lofty stand for this application). It's amazing how much you can see between the rows of dried down corn and how much those deer will move around all day long inside of that corn.