How do I fix this?

1. Best option would be to glue (epoxy) the chip back on, but you probably don't have the chip.

2. Cut the base of the pistol grip off to the depth of the chip, contour and sand the edges, then stain it to match the rest of the stock.

3. Find a stain that matches the stock, mix enough sawdust, epoxy, and stain to fill the hole, then sand the patch smooth and stain the repair area.

Check Numrich Arm (Gun Parts Corp) to see if they have a complete butt stock take off. I've had good luck with this.

Having said that, I am a woodworker and luthier. Here is my process for a guitar repair.

Before I explain this, the caveat is to always practice the techniques on some scrap wood until you are confident enough to try it on an heirloom or expensive client instrument or gun.
I would get a piece of matching scrap. This is birch in your pictures. You can get birch ply almost anywhere. Use a fine saw or medium file to make enough sawdust. Mix that sawdust with superglue on a disposable surface. Be careful because it will get hot from the chemical reaction. Like a surgeon doing surgery, mask off everything. I mean the whole piece. Finish your masking with cutting in the last piece of tape right over the chip. You will remove only this piece after you apply the mixture. Fill the taped off area carefully with your mixed glue. and remove the tape before it sets.

This stuff hardens fast, so have your work piece masked off and ready to apply the fill before you start mixing. I like to use a loose utility knife blade to apply the patch. Whatever you use will likely be toast after this.