Has anyone hunted elk from a kayak

220yotekiller

Have any of you guys ever hunted elk out of a kayak? I have found a unit that has good public but very little access to it, but there is a river that touches it in a few places so I think it would be doable to hunt out of a boat, except that I have never used a boat before. Any pointers?

It all depends on the river. I think a raft would be safer and a lot more useful, not sure how you could safely pack meat in a kayak. Realistically it would have to be a pretty good sized river and you’d have to scout it out for hazards. At low flows in the fall I would say most rivers in the mountains would be impossible to float, or at least very unsafe to float.

I have done a ton of open water/ocean kayaking and rivers are a whole different beast. Currents and obstructions can ruin a day quick but it can be done but as MTlab suggested prove it by trying it first preferably when warm so swiming is a option but like mentioned know things on rivers change seasonally. Good luck

Have any of you guys ever hunted elk out of a kayak? I have found a unit that has good public but very little access to it, but there is a river that touches it in a few places so I think it would be doable to hunt out of a boat, except that I have never used a boat before. Any pointers?
Pacraft or canoe. I think you’d be asking for trouble with a kayak

Any legal prohibitions out west? Here in Virginia you can’t hunt deer out of a boat; other animals are shotgun only.
I know some states prohibit walking streams to access hunting areas without “fishing your way in.” Would using a raft be that much different? Curious.

Last edited:
I know some states prohibit walking streams to access hunting areas without “fishing your way in.” Would using a raft be that much different? Curious.