Gardening

TexanSam

Anyone here a gardener? Each year when the soil temps rise above 50 degrees until deer season starts I'll be obsessing over growing stuff. For many years until I graduated college I worked on a cattle/row crop farm, then for a year I worked on a field research crew performing corn, soybean and sorghum field trials. Now that all that is over, I grow vegetables on about a half acre in between my back yard, and a common area that my landlord lets us use.

A couple weeks ago I planted sunflowers, sweet corn, green beans and cucumbers. On all the rows except one for control, I applied a starter fertilizer and a plant growth stimulating compound that we used on the research crew. It appears that the mix of the 2 really aided germination. IMG_20190408_191714404.jpg

Sweet corn, day 7 after planting

I'm a gardener, but up in Chicagoland we are still about a month away from planting much of anything. I do have fall-planted garlic starting to come up. Of course we just got about 8" of snow dumped on us. It'll be in the 50s today and all of that will melt making my backyard/garden an soggy mess.

I planted sweet corn,jalepenos,three different peppers and garlic.Corn sprouted in 4 days.
2 nights ago the rabbits found it and ate every sprout.Only the Garlic and Jalepenos have
survived all else failed to sprout.:cool:

I plant a backyard garden. Planted 6 tomatoes, 6 peppers, 4 strawberries, spaghetti squash, cucumber, zucchini, and various basil.

I had to give it up and move it inside after moving to high altitude. I do miss having one in the yard, but having no bugs is nice.

I tilled a 1/8 acre plot for my wife's garden. She has slowly started putting things in but the temps are so variable that we still have a week or two before the bulk of summer plants go in. Seems like we go from nights below freezing to day time highs in the 90's in just a couple weeks time which wrecks havoc on the peas, kale and such. I am most excited about the fresh herbs!