First Hunt Outside of Texas, First Successful Hunt Ever 6X6 Bull

JmmgBOWhunter

After several months of wearing down a buddy from work I got a hunting partner, which was very beneficial for hauling meat. I didn't pester him to come with me but he has experience hunting elk and loved it. So, every time I got a new piece of gear I has up in his office showing it off. Then I started practicing my calls and having him listen. It all worked the last month we planned this thing together. He started by joining me running hills at 4:30am every morning and then he jumped in to the online scouting with me (side note On X Maps or On X Hunts is the pooh!).

Anyways Friday (9-1-17) morning we left Dallas headed for the Colorado Rockies and for 14 hours we listened to all the elk related podcast I could get my hands on. Also we spent a good deal of the the truck ride fine tuning our calling abilities, not good for the ears but fun as heck. We thought we knew what we where getting to by not parking at a trail head and bush wacking our way in, couple dumb city slickers is what it felt like. It took us 6 hours to get the 2.5 miles to where we marked a base camp. Granted we both had some difficulty adjusting to the 11,400 elevation and this is a wilderness area with a good amount of dead fall. It was all worth it when we got to camp. I could easily die a happy man staring at those mountains.SWZG0572.jpgIMG_6949.jpg

On the way in to camp we saw a stream near a meadow with a lot of sign and with camp set up we still 5 ish hours of legal shooting light so we went back. Before going we worked a deal were I call and he hunts one day and then we alternate, seems logical. Either way he got dips on hunting first. Nothing at all happened but a thunderstorm rolled in and pushed us back to camp.

Day 2
During our E scouting my buddy marked a meadow with a wallow and we decided over a cup of joe that should be where we sit for the day.IMG_6968.jpg