Finished my pronghorn mount

There are lots of online tutorials and videos. Most of the procedures are similar for most shoulder mounts. I would make sure your Cape has been quality tanned and thinned down for starters. Take your time. The more you do the more you'll learn
thanks for the tip on thinning the hide. I had it tanned professionally, just nervous as its my first time....

Looks nice how did you get started in taxidermy? Did you just buy one of those kits and go for it ? How did your first one go ? I used to do a lot of trapping and have always thought about trying it myself

Looks nice how did you get started in taxidermy? Did you just buy one of those kits and go for it ? How did your first one go ? I used to do a lot of trapping and have always thought about trying it myself
My father did a little on the side as well. He was a jack of all trades. Mainly just watched him to start. Did a couple whitetail mounts of my own about 15 years ago and just went from there.

Looks good! I like your dusting of snow. ;)

I think habitat does a lot for a mount. The taxidermist that I've used for many years does just minimal habitat, mostly a weathered branch and some tuffs of grass and maybe a couple of pieces of moss. Then a few years ago I had my leopard mounted by Monarch in Helena, and they did a fantastic job with great habitat. Since then I've "upgraded" several of my mounts with habitat that I've bought from McKenzie.

My daughter and I have started up a taxidermy business. She does the fish and fur things and I do most of the skulls and woodwork.