Fall Turkey tactics?

Buck Fever NW

Curious about fall turkey tactics (versus spring methods).

I'm not an experienced turkey hunter (have hunted one spring and harvested one), but my son and I have access to hunt a property in a couple of weeks where it sounds like there are a reasonable number of birds living. This is Oak Savannah type habitat (Oregon Willamette valley).

All set on ammo, guns, extra full chokes, camo etc. just curious if any experienced fall hunters have any general tips regarding use of decoys, calling, tactics.

I understand toms are usually bunched up with other toms and vice versa for hens (bag limit is either sex) and they are mostly focused on food in the fall rather than mating as in spring.

My plan currently is for us to just post up against oak trees adjacent to likely feeding areas and maybe put out decoys and just wait. I have a slate call I may use sparingly, but a little hesitant because I'm not really experienced with it, we'll see. I've seen that some people even try spot and stalk or even "flock busting" and ambushing as they re-group but not sure about those at this point.

Anyway, this is a low pressure hunt and the opportunity just came up recently so just go gonna go and have some fun with the boy. Any tips or insight are appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Good luck. I think patterning is best. Try to observe and then get in place where you think they will be ahead of them. when they are flocked up there are so many more eyes that can catch movement you make.

But if they do bust on you, you might quickly reposition so that you are in between the flock and then make some calls to bring some looking for the flock. Don't assume that you messed up and give up your hunt just because they busted.