Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Elk muzzleloading question

Paisano

I'm brand new to muzzleloading and have been researching guns and loads for a few weeks. I have to ask some of you experienced elk hunters, what is the deal with everybody saying muzzleloaders are good for 200 yards? What is a realistic range for an ethical kill on a bull? I may be missing something but, in most of the stuff I've read, the ballistics seem to show ft/lbs of energy would be questionable (<1500) past 150 yards. And, it sounds like a lot of elk hunters aren't using maximum powder charges for a variety of reasons. What kind of load and distance do you guys shoot out there in the real world??

Thanks for the help.

I dont know about everyone else but I can tell you what works for me here in New Mexico. I am using a Thompson Center Bone Collector 50 cal, shoot 245 grain powerbelts and 150 grains/3pellets of triple seven, I have a group at 100 yards the size of a 50 cent piece. I have taken one bull at 183 yards and I took another bull at 200 yards with this setup. Neither bull went more than 30 yards.

This one is a pet peeve of mine. Primitive weapons (bow, muzzie, spear, rock) are not rifles and have limitations. Here in Utah the state limits muzzleloaders to 1x power scopes or open sights. This caps most people around 150 yards.

My grandpa told me three things I have always honored.

1) Just because you can see it doesn't mean you should shoot at it.

2) Rather than blaze away from here why don't we sneak closer.

3) Forget bullets 2-3-4 and those in your pack. Make 1 shot count.