CVA Wolf muzzleloader

CarsonSmithElkHunter

I am wondering what all I need to buy a CVA Wolf muzzleloader, and shoot it. I am very new to muzzleloading, and I am up for suggestions for ammo, primers, powders, and possibly even other guns/brands.

I use powerbelts for bullets... I'm actually looking at switching to 209 type primers and powder that set up is cleaner and less of a PITA.

I would grab a bunch of speed loaders... at least 3, I carry 6.
1587510814111.png

A tool that holds your primers and helps you put them in a take them out. Kinda depends on whether you use #11s, 209s, etc
This for #11s, you basically fill it with primers then use it to put them on.
1587511084108.png

Bullet starter
1587511230422.png

Bore cleaner, patches, cleaning rod, etc.

If you plan on hunting with it make sure you can use it in the state that you want to hunt. Idaho does not let you use 209 primers along with a few other limitations

I have owned a CVA Wolf for several years and like it very much. It is very handy and very easy to clean. I believe the CVA breech plug is one of the best “tool less” removable plugs, just keep a little breech plug grease on it.
First some legalese, read the owners manual. All the safety rules of firearms apply with a few extra. IMO the most important extra rule is put the primer on LAST. You should never load the barrel with a primer in the breech.
Unless you really like the nickname Lefty. Also, check your state regs regarding muzzleloaders. They are all different regarding every aspect of a muzzleloader. Examples: minimum caliber, sights, scope, primer,
powder type, bullet, etc.

On to what you were asking.
My 50cal Wolf shoots great with
110gr (by volume) of Blackhorn 209
Winchester 209 primer
300gr Hornady XTP .44 hollow points
inside a black (harvester I think) sabot
The bullet/sabot combo came packaged together. I have a scope and am very confident to a max of 150yds.