Cow moose, hunt of a lifetime (WITH Pictures lol)

OverlordBear

Once in a lifetime Cow Moose Hunt

This is my first time completing a hunt report. Most people say that hunting cow moose is easy. This was far from my experience. I drew a cow moose tag and was one of five to draw this tag. I was fortunate because the hunting unit was only a half hour from my house.

Scouting for cow moose was false advertising. I saw cow moose almost every day during the September archery season. They usually liked to feed along the south side of the ridges and along the spines near the aspen chutes. Big black shadows just slowly feeding like clockwork, they could care less about hunters pretending to be elk running around the woods with a bow.

Hunting opening day and day one of my hunt coincided with the bull elk rifle opener and within the first hour I heard about 6 shots in the area and maybe two dozen throughout the day. With those shots all the easy to see moose that I had glassed during the archery season just vanished into thin air. I hiked a total of 8 miles that day.

more to come.

IMG_7765.JPGIMG_8030.JPG

Last edited:
I took a four day break to deer hunt with a friend and harvested a nice mule deer buck. My friend had never seen an animal broken down and he got a firsthand lesson on field dressing butchering wild game.

IMG_7887.JPGIMG_7883.JPG