Conservation Groups/Advice

Bagel_7

Just wanted to pick everyone's brain if I could. I am part of a local chapter for a national conservation group (name omitted) and we have our inaugural banquet coming in November. I am sure there are others that work for different conservation groups what advice would you give me in my quest for ticket sales and donation requests?

Note, this is my first year actually sitting on the board, however I have attended numerous banquets over the years. My chapter has much more experience than I do. But I want to be as helpful as I can. Thanks in advance.

If you are looking for hunters to show up, I would pick a different month than November to have a fund raiser for starters. Also remember that all business get hit up non stop all year long for donations. Keep that in mind when soliciting donations.

I can't help the November date and there have been banquets in November in the past where large groups were gone due to hunting trips. I also understand that companies get hit up year round that's why I was looking for advice. Even if its about selling tickets, running a smooth banquet, anything someone with experience can share.

I've had success calling past donors and thanking them for their previous generosity and asking for a similar donation. Also, your national HQ should be able to provide tools to help with this, and may have items already on hand for these kinds of events or a list of sponsors they get donations from.

Don't just focus on outdoors stuff either. Many women go to banquets and they will bid heavily on items like spa weekends, booze baskets, Hotel weekends, etc.

I've also had good luck with rifle raffles and a "buy a square" board for prizes. It's also important to have a good auctioneer who can work a crowd and build excitement. There's a high level of showmanship to these banquets, and most folks aren't coming for rubber chicken or shoe-leather steaks.