Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

CO winter 2023 and effect on grouse?

Bullshot

Would a bad winter have a correspondingly bad winter on forest grouse? They make a living up pretty high on the mountain, eating buds and such, so does the extra snow matter? I’d think if the population is OK through a bad winter, the moisture during the growing season would only serve to benefit them? Any grouse experts to chime in?

I'm wondering how all the snow might affect breeding. They should be moving down to lower elevations soon to get the job done, but there still so much snow, I wonder if that will be delayed or less successful.

I'm no expert.

But I know Blue grouse live in conifer trees most of the winter, and are one of the few animals on Earth that gain elevator for wintering. I imagine they are fine with a harsh winter. Ruffed grouse maybe have a tougher time...not sure.

I know that hatches of ground covey birds like turkeys, grouse, chukar, etc need enough dry days to survive in the first couple weeks. This is really important. They can survive a day or two of rain with mom before they feather, but when there is like a week straight of rain right after they hatch, very few can survive.

My two cents.

Last edited:
Was in the sierras and I think our grouse did ok, I saw a bunch of conifer droppings I assumed was wintering birds at around 9k

Attachments

• A33903CE-149C-4274-9780-CDF596613C78.jpeg
    A33903CE-149C-4274-9780-CDF596613C78.jpeg
    3.6 MB · Views: 14