Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

CO Unit 74 for Backpacking Elk Hunt

nwchen24

Hi everyone, I'm new to the elk hunting game and planning my second hunt for this fall.

Last year, I scouted all summer closer to Denver in unit 371 and didn't see another person, but come opening day, the place was crawling with other hunters. So this year, me and my buddy are trying a new strategy - get far far away from people and hunt rougher country. Has anyone hunted in Unit 74 of Colorado before? Specifically, I'm looking at the Hermosa Creek area where I see some pretty steep country.

I'm hunting early season archery - planning on the first week of the season.

Since the unit is a lot farther from where I live in Denver, scouting trips aren't quite as feasible as to unit 371, so I'm looking for some information about this part of the state. I've been perusing google maps and have picked out some promising spots, but any advice from anyone who's had boots on the ground would be awesome.

Is water readily available (1) for the animals and (2) for us since we'll be backpacking for 6 days?
Has beetle kill hit this part of the state as bad as it has in unit 371?
What are the elk feeding on this time of year in that part of the state?
Are we likely to find elk in the canyons this early in the season where the elevation gets down as low as 8500 feet or so?
Have there been any recent burns in the Hermosa Creek area in the last few years that might not show up on Google maps?

Thanks in advance and please PM me if you'd rather any specific advice not be posted for all eyes to see.

Like I said, the elk hunting game is new to me so any advice is much appreciated!

Last edited:
Have you talked to the biologist in the area. Most of those guys are pretty helpful. I hunt 80, so can't help you other than that.