Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Clean bore vs. "Copper equilibrium"

Kbbond

I am relatively new to the realm of shooting MOA. I decided that I finally wanted to drop some coin on a "sub-MOA guaranteed rifle" and a suitable scope... $3,000 dollars later I have a Nosler M48 Liberty in 7mm RM and a Leupold VX-5HD scope.

I have shot both factory and hand loads (I would consider myself a novice handloader, but a very anal retentive handloader who will make sure I have the same weight of powder per charge by adding or subtracting as little as one individual granule of powder at a time), and believe I should be out of the "break-in period" for the rifle. I followed Nosler's prescribed break-in procedure and started watching my groups after that and here is what I've seen.

Factory loads: I've shot HSM ammunition In 140 and 168 gr VLD with mixed results. The 168's shot fairly well with two bullets going though the same hole on many occasions but left a 3rd shot flyer about 1 inch or better out.
I've shot federal premium for break-in ammo and got roughly a 2-3" group at 100yds (granted I wasn't trying very hard with those outside of getting on paper and shooting cleaning rounds.
Finally, I've shot Nosler Custom 150gr partitions rated at 3100 fps with varying results. Some were all over the place and some were within an inch.

Hand loads: obviously there are so many variables with hand loads that I wont go super into detail so here are my observations. I had erratic rounds of H4350 pushing a 160gr accubond and a 175gr. ELD-X. The other day I found that 70gr. Retumbo pushing a 160gr. Accubond, seated at 3.35" COAL was giving me a 0.6" group and that got me excited.

Here's the kicker...

I cleaned my rifle after ever 40-60 rounds depending on what I had available on that day. Cleaning meaning clean until the copper fouling is gone and scrub the hell out of the barrel with a nylon brush until polished.